top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmy Littleford

Book Review: A Brahminy Sunrise by Maggie Christensen

Updated: Feb 20, 2021


Alex Carter is devastated when her partner ends their long-term relationship. Accepting a position at a university on Queensland’s Sunshine Coast, she plans to spend time with her family, renovate her beach cottage and forget all about men. But, as she is making a new life for herself, the past rises up to throw a spanner in the works and she has to make a determined effort to reset her compass. Shocked by a colleague’s suicide, Jack Russo leaves his high-powered city career and travels north, settling in a coastal town in an attempt to simplify his life. Yet, even here, he discovers, everything isn’t what it seems. When his fledgling handyman business appears to be in danger of collapsing, he is forced to make some hard decisions.


My Review:


Rating: 4/5 stars



Firstly, I'd like to thank Hidden Gems Books for gifting me a free eARC of this book for an honest review. A Brahminy Sunrise by Maggie Christensen caught my attention straight away when looking for a book to read and when I started reading it I didn't want to stop. As a young adult I found it refreshing to read a romance about a more mature relationship. I liked both Alex and Jack as characters and enjoyed their different narratives. This blossoming romance between the two was real and you could tell that because not everything was perfect all the time. By chapter 18 I did wonder how this book was going to end. I knew I only had one chapter left but they hadn't got together yet. I found the book to seem rushed with the final chapter being 6 months later and suddenly they are together. I understand it was more about the two trying to resist each other throughout but I would have liked to have seen more of their relationship as a couple.



I did find some parts a bit predictable. This being said I really enjoyed reading it. I found that I didn't get bored at any point in the book and thought the romance was more realistic compared to the cheesy book I have read before.


Amy x

14 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page