top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmy Littleford

Book Review: Angel Dares by Joss Stirling


Angel is impulsive. Disguising her savant ability to control water doesn't come easily to her. Then she meets the broodingly handsome Marcus at a music festival where they're both performing, and finds herself all at sea. For when he sings, her soul answers with its own music. Like the tide, their mutual attraction cannot be held back, but Marcus's mistrust of Angel's gift is even stronger. How can they ever be together if Marcus is unable to accept who Angel is or what they could mean to each other? And with the net closing in on the Savant community it's time for everyone to choose a side. A stunning new novel from the best-selling author of the Savants series: Finding Sky, Stealing Phoenix, Seeking Crystal and Misty Falls.


My Review:


Rating: 2.5/5 stars


I thought I would try and finish a series before I start any others which is very tempting so I picked up the 5th book in the Benedict Savant series. The last book I rated 4.5 stars which in contrast is very different from this book. It was an easy read that I read in a few days so there must have been something good about the book. I enjoyed the relationship between Angel, Misty and Summer.


That is where the positives end for me. The male characters in the book, which there are many, are all under the age of 30 and all incredibly sexist. Half the time I couldn't believe what I was reading. The women in the book are treated like property and at one point a male character said 'there isn't a no trespassing sign on her', literally describing her as another persons property. I really couldn't believe what I was reading. This book was written by a female author in 2015. 2015 isn't that long ago and this type of sexism really isn't acceptable.


The love interest, Marcus, is the worst of them all. He continuously wants Angel to prove her worth to him and is a complete arse all the time. Angel would apologise for her 'behaviour' and it really made me feel sick. This book is intended for young readers and I can't imagine what an impact it could have on them. I only have one book left in this series and hope that it gets back to the quality of the rest of the series and doesn't continue like this one.


3 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page