top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmy Littleford

Book Review: Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire


The new Abby Abernathy is a good girl. She doesn’t drink or swear, and she has the appropriate number of cardigans in her wardrobe. Abby believes she has enough distance from the darkness of her past, but when she arrives at college with her best friend, her path to a new beginning is quickly challenged by Eastern University's Walking One-Night Stand.


Travis Maddox, lean, cut, and covered in tattoos, is exactly what Abby needs—and wants—to avoid. He spends his nights winning money in a floating fight ring, and his days as the ultimate college campus charmer. Intrigued by Abby’s resistance to his appeal, Travis tricks her into his daily life with a simple bet. If he loses, he must remain abstinent for a month. If Abby loses, she must live in Travis’s apartment for the same amount of time. Either way, Travis has no idea that he has met his match.


My Review:


Rating: 4/5 stars.


I read this book 6 years ago and I never got around to reading the rest of the series so I thought I'd pick it up again now and finally get through the series. It barely took me five hours to read this book (annoyingly I had to go to bed so I couldn't read it in one sitting). Abby and Travis' relationship goes from strangers to friends to lovers and it is a really intense relationship where they both have demons that could ruin what they have. Abby still calls Travis out for his shit and their relationship is a 'beautiful disaster'! It probably isn't the best romance to read at a young age because of the slight toxicity but it was so well written and the characters really drew me in. They did work through a lot of the issues in their relationship. It kind of follows the friends to lovers trope. There are so many twist and turns in their relationship which really kept me engaged and it felt like a bit of a whirlwind. I'm looking forward to reading 'Walking Disaster' which is in Travis' POV and seeing how that book differs to this one. There is also a series that is linked to this one that is about each of Travis' brothers! I recommend this to readers that enjoy a YA romance that is intense and really addictive. Amy x

0 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page