top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmy Littleford

Book Review: Heartbreak Bay by Rachel Caine


They’re hunting a killer so silent, so invisible, that his unspeakable crimes are the only proof he exists.


A car submerged in a remote pond. The bodies of two girls strapped into their seats. The mystery of their mother, vanished without a trace, leads Gwen Proctor and Kezia Claremont into dangerous territory. On the surface, Gwen’s life is good—two children approaching adulthood, a committed partner, and a harrowing past dead and gone. But that past is attracting the attention of someone invisible…and unstoppable. Trouble’s just beginning. So is the body count in this backwoods Tennessee town.


As threats mount and Gwen’s hunted by an enemy who pulls all the strings, Kezia has her back. But working to solve these vicious and unreasonable crimes will expose them both to a killer they can’t for the life of them see coming.


My Review:


Rating: 5/5 stars


Firstly, I'd like to thank Netgalley and Thomas & Mercer for the eARC of this book for an honest review.


Starting and finishing this book was emotional for me. Knowing this was Rachel Caine's last book made it all the more special. The author note at the end of the book was heartbreaking and made me cry. The crime Gwen was investigating in this book was brutal. I feel like Caine upped the crime and violence in this book and I loved it! In the most normal way possible. I will miss beginning a new adventure with Gwen and her family. I enjoyed that Kezia got a POV role in this book and it was nice to be able to get to know her more.


The 'bad guy' for want of a better word, was written well and a complete psycho. This series are some of the best thrillers I have ever read. If you listen to any of my recommendations then this is the one to listen to! Rachel Caine is such a great writer and I will definitely be looking at the other books she has written. Every chapter seems to have action and there is no time to rest when reading these books. A magnificent writer that will be truly missed.






22 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page