top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmy Littleford

Book Review: Just Haven't Met You Yet by Sophie Cousens


Laura's business trip to the Channel Islands isn't exactly off to a great start. After unceremoniously dumping everything in her bag in front of the most attractive man she's ever seen in real life, she arrives at her hotel only to realize she's grabbed the wrong suitcase from the airport. Her only consolation? The irresistibly appealing contents of the case: a copy of her favorite book; piano music; and a rugged, heavy knit fisherman sweater only a Ryan Gosling lookalike could pull off. The owner of this suitcase is Laura's dream man--she's sure of it. Now, all she has to do is find him.


The mix-up seems written in the stars. After all, what are the odds that she'd find The One on the same remote island where her mom and dad had first fallen in love, especially as she sets out to write an article about their epic romance? Commissioning surly cab driver Ted to ferry her around seems like her best bet in both tracking down the mystery suitcase owner and retracing her parents' footsteps. And if beneath Ted's gruffness lies a wit that makes their cab rides strangely entertaining, so much the better. But as Laura's long-lost luggage soulmate proves difficult to find--and as she realizes that the love story she's held on a pedestal all her life might not have been that perfect--she'll have to rethink her whole outlook on love to discover what she really wants.


My Review:


Rating: 3.75/5 stars


Firstly, I'd like to thank Netgalley and Cornerstone for the eARC for an honest review.


This is my 2nd Sophie Cousins' book and I really loved This Time Next Year and rated it 4.5 stars! I was so excited to see Cousins publish her next book and was so grateful to get a eARC through Netgalley. The thing I loved most about this book was the setting. It's set on the small island of Jersey and the way Cousins was able to describe it throughout the book has really made me consider it as a next holiday destination!


The first half of the book didn't grab me in a way I thought it would. I didn't particularly like the main character and thought she was a little annoying and oblivious to what was happening around her. It definitely meant I read the book a lot slower than I might usually. The 2nd half of the book saved it for me. Laura and Ted's relationship was a bit of a slow burn with both of them not being sure about their own feelings. I really liked Ted's character (it could also be described as a grumpy/sunshine relationship) who was clearly such a lovely guy. The revelations about Laura's family and her realisation that perfect 'meet cutes' aren't the be all and end all really meant that her character arc went through a huge journey by the end of the book. The fact that I didn't like her in the beginning of the book could have been intentional but I think it is quite a risk to take as people could stop reading.


The ending was great and everything that should have happened did. I did question whether the two characters really suited and maybe the change in Laura was a little unrealistic but in the end I did enjoy this read. I'm looking forward to Cousens next book, Before I Do.





1 view0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page