top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmy Littleford

Book Review: Killman Creek by Rachel Caine



Every time Gwen closed her eyes, she saw him in her nightmares. Now her eyes are open, and he’s not going away.


Gwen Proctor won the battle to save her kids from her ex-husband, serial killer Melvin Royal, and his league of psychotic accomplices. But the war isn’t over. Not since Melvin broke out of prison. Not since she received a chilling text…


You’re not safe anywhere now.


Her refuge at Stillhouse Lake has become a trap. Gwen leaves her children in the protective custody of a fortified, well-armed neighbor. Now, with the help of Sam Cade, brother of one of Melvin’s victims, Gwen is going hunting. She’s learned how from one of the sickest killers alive.


But what she’s up against is beyond anything she feared—a sophisticated and savage mind game calculated to destroy her. As trust beyond her small circle of friends begins to vanish, Gwen has only fury and vengeance to believe in as she closes in on her prey. And sure as the night, one of them will die.


My Review:


Rating: 5/5 stars


I was so excited to continue this series and this book did not disappoint! To be clear, these are adult thrillers that go into a lot of detail and some topics may be triggering. I absolutely loved this book. Following Gwen's story with her serial killer husband was as thrilling as ever. With the second book we get multiple POVs from Gwen, her children and Sam which opened the story up so we could see what other characters where thinking and their reactions to important developments.


These books are action packed and I was genuinely shouting, squealing and gasping throughout. There are twists that I didn't predict and moments that I completely couldn't believe were happening. The things Gwen went through and survived! I really felt for her. That woman is fire!


I really recommend this series to thriller readers because wow is it amazing! I really can't find the words but it's bloody brilliant! Rachel Caine is a fabulous writer and I'm so sad to know we won't get anymore books from her. Her backlist is calling me.





2 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page