top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmy Littleford

Book Review: Mad About You by Mhairi McFarlane


Harriet Hatley may be one of the most in-demand wedding photographers in Leeds, but she hates the idea of marriage. Cal Clarke is used to the world falling in line with his plans – apart from his own love-life, which has gone hopelessly wrong. When they become unlikely housemates, it’s clear they’re both running away from something bigger.


Can they take a crazy risk to face the past and change everything?


My Review:


Rating: 5/5 stars


Firstly, I'd like to thank Tandem Collective UK and Harper Collins UK for the gifted copy of Mad About You for an honest review.


I've read a couple of Mhairi McFarlane's books before and was so excited when I heard about this one! I was really trying to get my hands on it and then Tandem Collective UK came through for me and of course I loved it as much as I knew I would. You might be expecting a cute fluffy rom-com from this book but is far from it. Of course there is a romance element but I would say that is a secondary part of this book. This book explores the effect of emotional and mental abuse up close so be aware of this when about to read this book. What I really loved about this book is the female empowerment that it explored and women supporting women! We love to see it!


I loved how supportive Cal was of Harriet and always knew exactly what to say in such a genuine and kind way. He didn't take over the 'show' but let her do her thing and was always there after when she needed someone. It was great to see a respectful relationship blossom. Mhairi McFarlane's books always have such depth and its why I love her works so much because of how well she explores these difficult subjects in such excellent books!


If you're looking for a rom-com that has depth and explores very relevant topics then this book and all Mhairi McFarlane books are for you!




0 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page