top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmy Littleford

Book Review: Stealing Phoenix by Joss Stirling


Phoenix belongs to the Community, a gang of thieves with paranormal powers. Yves Benedict, an American student visiting London, is her mark. But Yves turns out to be more than just a target. He is her destiny. Her soulmate. The Community owns Phoenix's past and it wants her future too. Can Phoenix save the boy she loves . . . and herself?


My Review:


Rating: 4/5 stars.


I was in a bit of a reading slump and this book helped me get out of it! It's the second book in the Benedict-Savant series that was set in London this time. We focused on Yves, the second youngest brother, finding his soulfinder, Phee. It was interesting to see, through Phee' eyes, how the savant powers can be used for illegal activity and also how easy it is for them to manipulate thoughts and feelings.


I enjoyed being able to see Sky again and liked how she made it easier for Phee to deal with introductions with the Benedict family. There are 7 brothers but only 6 books so I'm not quite sure how that's going to work. It did feel a little samey to the first book with how it went down but I did really enjoy it. I always enjoy the action scenes as they are written very well. I'm wondering if they become less YA because as each book goes it's about an older brother. Yves was 18 in this one. The last chapter made me all warm and fuzzy inside as it was such a lovely ending.


I didn't give this book 5 stars this time around because I can't really ignore the subtly sexism that seems to run through these books and to think that I read these at around 14. It's sad that this kind of relationship (female relies on male to be rescued etc.) was what I read at such an influential age.


17 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page