top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmy Littleford

Book Review: Summer Shadows by Joss Stirling


Summer lives under a terrible shadow. It drains her, manipulates her and threatens to steal her future.


A high-stakes mission offers a temporary escape. She must use her mind-shadowing abilities to hunt down her target and find the truth. Hal Robinson is a soldier. He does not get distracted. He wins. But what Hal wants begins to shift once he meets Summer. They must learn to trust each other if they are going to protect the Savant community. But will their secrets allow them to find a happy ending of their own?


My Review:


Rating: 3.5/5 stars


*3.5 stars


I finally finished this series! I was really looking forward to reading Summer and Victor's soul finder story and I did end up enjoying the book. Having said this I can't really ignore the major red flags this was giving me. Firstly, the sexism at the start of this book was mortifying, just like the last book, Angel Dares. Hal, Summer's soul finder, was very sexist when he first met Summer, and of course it was considered teasing because he liked her. Completely ridiculous. The other thing that I found problematic was when Summer, not knowing the names of some Asian characters, nicknames them Aladdin and Jafar (cultural appropriation) which really annoyed me. Also, a completely ignorance about Afghanistan overall.


I did enjoy Summer's background story with her family and her powers as a savant were very unique. Hal's abilities where as unique and their abilities paired together were brilliant. I loved the plot line of this book and how it brought the series to a satisfying end. We got to see every character that was important in the ending and I really loved it! To see the savants working together was really fun. I feel like this series is a little outdated for me and sadly when it was released it probably wasn't seen as problematic. However, I'm glad to finally have finished this series!


1 view0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page