top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmy Littleford

Book Review: The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes by Suzanne Collins


It is the morning of the reaping that will kick off the tenth annual Hunger Games. In the Capital, eighteen-year-old Coriolanus Snow is preparing for his one shot at glory as a mentor in the Games. The once-mighty house of Snow has fallen on hard times, its fate hanging on the slender chance that Coriolanus will be able to outcharm, outwit, and outmaneuver his fellow students to mentor the winning tribute.


The odds are against him. He's been given the humiliating assignment of mentoring the female tribute from District 12, the lowest of the low. Their fates are now completely intertwined -- every choice Coriolanus makes could lead to favor or failure, triumph or ruin. Inside the arena, it will be a fight to the death. Outside the arena, Coriolanus starts to feel for his doomed tribute... and must weigh his need to follow the rules against his desire to survive no matter what it takes.


My Review:


Rating: 4.5/5 stars


I read the Hunger Games series in my teens and enjoyed the concept but didn't think it was executed well. I actually thought the films were better and recently rewatched them before reading this book. I don't know if my opinion would change if I read them again now.


I thought this book was written well and I really enjoyed the story. I found it so interesting reading about the Hunger Games when it was only just beginning. Learning about the origins of certain things, meeting the people behind the games and also watching Snow morph into the man we know in the Hunger Games series was so intriguing. The little links here and there, I thought were really clever.


Reading about Panem after the war and getting the perspective of those that lived in the Capitol had me hooked. Lucy Grey was a great character and I loved that she wrote the Hanging Tree song that Katniss sings in the final film. The slow transition of Coriolanus was so fascinating and the ending shocked me. But of course Snow lands on top! Definitely recommend if you've read the Hunger Games series.


3 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page