top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmy Littleford

Book Review: The Castaways by Lucy Clarke


A secret beach. A holiday of a lifetime. Wish you were here?


Think again.


It should be like any other holiday.


Beautiful beaches. Golden sunsets. Nothing for miles.


You’ll never want to leave.


Until you can’t...


My Review:


Rating: 5/5 stars


I borrowed this book from Libby (the library app) as my monthly audiobook and I'm so glad that I did. After a few thrillers/murder mystery books that didn't really meet my expectations I really needed something from this genre to remind me why I love it! This book definitely did that!


I always love a book that focuses on a relationship between sisters! Lori and Erin were both great characters and we got their dual POV in this book. Both characters where relatable and you could actually sympathies with each of them (something I haven't found in other thrillers I've read recently). The premise of this book was really good. I liked that we had the 'then' and 'now' chapters that always kept us trying to guess. At different points in the book I wanted to get to each of the POV chapters just to see what had happened in the past/present. By the last section of the book I couldn't stop listening. Every opportunity I was listening to the audiobook wanting to know what happens!


I never thought I could feel so many emotions while reading a thriller. At one point Clarke almost broke my heart! I really liked the ending and how it wasn't the perfect ending that readers would imagine but kind of in-between what I wanted to happen and what I didn't want to happen. I have Clarke's new book, One of the Girls, as an ARC so I'm really excited for it now!


0 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page