top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmy Littleford

Book Review: The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue by V.E. Schwab


A Life No One Will Remember. A Story You Will Never Forget.


France, 1714: in a moment of desperation, a young woman makes a Faustian bargain to live forever and is cursed to be forgotten by everyone she meets.


Thus begins the extraordinary life of Addie LaRue, and a dazzling adventure that will play out across centuries and continents, across history and art, as a young woman learns how far she will go to leave her mark on the world.


But everything changes when, after nearly 300 years, Addie stumbles across a young man in a hidden bookstore and he remembers her name.


My Review:


Rating: 5/5 stars


Firstly, I'd like to thank Netgalley and Titan Books for an eARC for an honest review. Also, a huge thank you to Zola for the hardback edition that I won as part of a giveaway! With this book I feel like a physical copy is definitely needed. I have tabbed and highlighted this book to pieces, only a habit I have picked up because of the beautiful bookstagram community.


I completely adore this book. So much so that Bryce and Hunt have been kicked off my lock screen for a fan art of the gorgeous Addie. It is also from the point of view of Henry, an absolute sweetheart that struggles so much with his mental health. I feel like Schwab really captured the feelings using the analogy of the storms and the pink umbrellas. You only have to read the blurb to know this is a unique concept that flits between Addie's past and present. I love that the book focuses so much on artists with each section displaying a piece of art of some sort with a description that adds to what the reader is about to read. I cannot express how much I loved the writing in this book. I haven't read Schwab before but it is absolutely gorgeous and so poetic. I can truly say some of the best writing I've ever read.


I can safely say this book has confirmed for me my desire to have a tree planted just for me when I pass. I'm always telling my partner this is what I want and this book cemented it. Sounds odd but Estelle is a complete queen. How can I not mention the bisexual representation! This is my first read with bi rep (shocking I know) but it made me feel at home and seen. Addie is such a personality that I fell in love with. She is such a free spirit and someone who is completely unforgettable (ironically). She isn't perfect and struggles through 300+ years of life but gosh I love this book! The ending had me crying but that very last page had me grinning. Addie LaRue, I will never forget!



5 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page