top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmy Littleford

Book Review: The Perfect Wife by J.P. Delaney


Abbie awakens in a daze with no memory of who she is or how she landed in this unsettling condition. The man by her side claims to be her husband. He's a titan of the tech world, the founder of one of Silicon Valley's most innovative start-ups. He tells Abbie that she is a gifted artist, an avid surfer, a loving mother to their young son, and the perfect wife. He says she had a terrible accident five years ago and that, through a huge technological breakthrough, she has been brought back from the abyss.


She is a miracle of science.


But as Abbie pieces together memories of her marriage, she begins questioning her husband's motives--and his version of events. Can she trust him when he says he wants them to be together forever? And what really happened to Abbie half a decade ago?


Beware the man who calls you . . .


My Review:


Rating: 5/5 stars


Firstly, I'd like to thank Netgalley and Quercus Books for the eARC for an honest review.


Anyone who knows me knows that I always say that I don't read sci-fi books. The Perfect Wife is a Mystery/Thriller with huge sci-fi elements and I loved it. I literally couldn't start another book until I wrote this review. I have to commend the author for using 2nd person throughout the book. All writers know that 2nd person is very hard to write in because it can easily fall flat. J.P. Delaney did it so well and then the twist near the end was fantastic. The use of 2nd person just became 10x better with that twist. That wasn't only one twist as well. They all were brilliant for me. Also, as well as the 2nd person POV there were 26 chapters interspersed throughout narrated by a collected 'we' which gave us insights into the relationship between Abbie and Tim.


To say that this book messed with my head would be an understatement. The moral dilemmas had me questioning everything. The main POV being a robot with memories and feelings just made my head explode over and over again. Tim, the husband, was a great character. Not nice at all but so well created. He was manipulative, controlling, obsessive, clever, and you couldn't not hate him. I thought that Danny, Abbie and Tim's son was also a great character. J.P Delaney used his experience of having an autistic child to write Danny. It was very informative and all the different kind of 'treatments' was explored thoroughly.


I absolutely loved this book and it is definitely a top read of 2021. The way it is written is just so clever! I definitely recommend this book to Mystery/Thriller fans.






6 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page