top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmy Littleford

Book Review: This Never Happened by Jade Church


Falling into bed with your brother’s best friend was probably never going to end well, but when Sara wakes up to a hastily scrawled note that reads 'This never happened' she realises just how badly she screwed up.


Since that moment, Sara has done her best to avoid Fletcher at all costs. Yet, when her brother invites her on a group holiday in Alaska to escape her heartache, she reluctantly accepts… only to find herself snowed in with the one person she should hate the most.


Being snowed in never felt so hot.


My Review:


Rating: 4/5 stars


Firstly, I'd like to thank Jade Church for accepting me as part of her ARC team and for gifting me an eARC of This Never Happened for an honest review.


I'm a complete sucker for a steamy romance and I completely devoured this book. It didn't even take me a day to read. It's the perfect wintery romance for this time of year. This book shows how little you need to create a great book. There are about 5 characters and 4 settings and that is all we needed. I love the idea of forced proximity in a snow storm. I'm glad we got to see both Sara and Fletcher's POV so that we got a full rounded picture of what was going on. I thought it was great that we also got to see into Sara and Rob's relationship (her brother) and how that evolved and mended.


The spice was on point and we didn't get any fade to black scenes which always annoys me. They have great chemistry and also the dilemmas that come with sleeping with your brother's best friend/ best friend's sister. Even though it's quite a short book Sara's reservations don't just suddenly disappear and we get to see her thought process the whole way through. Having said this, I felt that some parts were over too quickly. For example, when Sara hits her head on the ground after falling and also the ending. I just wanted a bit more from the ending because it felt resolved very quickly.


I definitely highly recommend this to anyone who is in need of a steamy winter romance!


3 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page