top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmy Littleford

Book Review: Wolfhunter River by Rachel Caine


She can’t ignore a cry for help. But in this remote hunting town, it’s open season.


Gwen Proctor escaped her serial-killer husband and saved her family. What she can’t seem to outrun is his notoriety. Or the sick internet vigilantes still seeking to avenge his crimes. For Gwen, hiding isn’t an option. Not when her only mission is to create a normal life for her kids.


But now, a threatened woman has reached out. Marlene Crockett, from the remote town of Wolfhunter, is panicked for herself and her daughter. When Gwen arrives in the small, isolated rural community, Marlene is already dead—her own daughter blamed for the murder. Except that’s not the person Marlene feared at all. And Gwen isn’t leaving until she finds out who that was.


But it may already be too late. A trap has been set. And it’s poised to snap shut on everyone Gwen loves. Her stalkers are closing in. And in a town as dark as Wolfhunter, it’s so easy for them to hide…


My Review:


Rating: 5/5 stars


Firstly I'd like to thank Thomas & Mercer for a eARC on Netgalley for an honest review! Having loved the first two in the series I also had to get the physical copy.


I wasn't sure what this book would be about after the end of book two. I had no doubt that this adult thriller would be vivid and action packed, no detail left to the imagination. I wasn't disappointed. Caine describes everything to the very last detail with sickening accuracy. I definitely had complaints from my partner about the amount of times I was shouting out while reading!


The character relationships really developed in this book. Gwen and Sam getting closer all the time but of course their pasts are still haunting them. Lanny and Connor are really growing up and I enjoyed the part they played in this book. Gwen giving them more of a part when this is their lives too. She obviously realised this.


I really recommend this series for fan of adult fiction - thrillers.




3 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page