top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmy Littleford

Book Review: All the Things I Never Said by Jennie Louise


In her debut poetry collection, Jennie Louise writes a collection of letters she always wanted to send, but never could. Accumulating her work over the past years, this book, split into four sections, explores family tension, love and loss, mental illness and growth.


My Review:


Rating: 3/5 stars


Firstly, I'd like to thank the author for sending me an eARC for an honest review. This is Jennie's debut collection split into four chapters: letters she has written and never sent.


I could really tell how much emotion went into this collection from reading each piece. Each poem told a story that as a whole creates a life of human experience. This collections explores mental health, loss, families, love etc. Anyone who writes really raw poetry is brave in a way that part of their life whether it just be a feeling is presented on the page for others to read and interpret. One of favourite pieces in this collection is titled 'Nothing is Okay' which explores the feelings that come with separating from someone you have known so well.


I can't say that every poem blew me away. I connected to some but others I couldn't. For me some of the pieces weren't as strong as others and I think that is because some were too general and even some too specific making it hard for the reader to understand and connect with. Some of the capitalisation and punctuation was a bit random which did sometimes interrupt the flow while reading.


It's a quick easy read at just 60 pages and I think it's a good debut collection.


6 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page