top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmy Littleford

Book Review: Almost Adults by Ali Pantony

Updated: Feb 20, 2021


The struggle is real…


Ever managed to kill a succulent after just a few days?

Got seven reminder letters on the kitchen table because you forgot to pay your council tax?

Become a hot mess who’s falling apart because they’ve been broken up with?


Nobody told Mackie, Edele, Alex and Nat (aka the MEAN Girls) that life was going to be this way. They’re busy navigating the joys of adulthood – getting their shit together, breaking up and making up, moving out and moving on. This grown up stuff is hard but at least they’ve got each other.


Welcome to the world of adulting.


My Review:


Rating: 5/5 stars.


Firstly, I'd like to thank Netgalley and Penguin Random House UK for gifting me an eARC for an honest review!


In this brilliant women's fiction, we follow the lives of 4 amazing women, Edele, Mackie, Nat and Alex, each chapter narrated by one of the four. Very close friends, we see them all struggle with life that is the '20s' but with the beautiful support from each other. This book had me laughing and crying, smiling from ear to ear to anger. I absolutely loved it. Each of the women are individual and we can see this very well through their own separate narration. I didn't feel that there was a dull moment in the book.


I have to say, reading books that have been written quite recently, I love how climate change, equal rights, feminism etc are all incorporated into the writing, which I never saw when I was reading when I was younger. I love how these things are becoming normal! Mental health was handled really well, with Nat going to therapy, and dealing with her hateful inner voice. Mackie, not needing a relationship to be happy but following her career. Ed still living with her family at 27. Alex normalising questioning her relationship and whether forever is what she wants.


This is a beautiful book that focuses on 4 strong women and their amazing friendship. They support each other no matter what.



10 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page