top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmy Littleford

Book Review: Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall


Wanted:

One (fake) boyfriend

Practically perfect in every way


Luc O'Donnell is tangentially--and reluctantly--famous. His rock star parents split when he was young, and the father he's never met spent the next twenty years cruising in and out of rehab. Now that his dad's making a comeback, Luc's back in the public eye, and one compromising photo is enough to ruin everything.


To clean up his image, Luc has to find a nice, normal relationship...and Oliver Blackwood is as nice and normal as they come. He's a barrister, an ethical vegetarian, and he's never inspired a moment of scandal in his life. In other words: perfect boyfriend material. Unfortunately apart from being gay, single, and really, really in need of a date for a big event, Luc and Oliver have nothing in common. So they strike a deal to be publicity-friendly (fake) boyfriends until the dust has settled. Then they can go their separate ways and pretend it never happened.


But the thing about fake-dating is that it can feel a lot like real-dating. And that's when you get used to someone. Start falling for them. Don't ever want to let them go.


My Review:


Rating: 5/5 stars.


When I saw that Joe Jameson narrated this book on Audible I knew that I would want to read (listen) it and then I saw a brilliant review of it on Instagram that made my decision clear. I used my September credit thinking that I would be able to listen to it in the car on the way to University but then I finished it in 3 days and I still haven't gone back to Uni yet!


I can say hands down this is the funniest book I've read (listened to). I drove for an hour home yesterday and spent it laughing my head off looking like a crazy person to anyone that saw me. Luc (Lucien) was an amazing MC and I was rooting for him from the very beginning. Oliver was perfect for him even though they didn't seem very similar at all. This being my third audio book, I haven't actually listened to a sex scene before like I did with this book. I was blushing and laughing like a child.


This is the first LGBT+ rom-com I've read and I liked how it dealt with the less obvious forms of homophobia. For instance, Luc's work only accepting if he behaved like a certain type of gay person. Also, Oliver's parents making jokes about not having grandchildren. I also related a lot to Luc and the situation with his dad. There are very good topics touched on in this book.


I would say I could see a lot of myself in Luc. I'm the one who would scream and shout in an argument rather than being a mediator, like Oliver. I could see a lot of my own relationship in theirs which I thought was really nice. I really loved all of the secondary characters, especially Lucs co-workers, Alex and Reese (who made me laugh constantly). I also loved that it was set very close to where I've lived! If you enjoy Rom-Coms then I definitely recommend this book!


4 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page