top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmy Littleford

Book Review: flower crowns & fearsome things by Amanda Lovelace


in her new standalone poetry collection, flower crowns & fearsome things, bestselling & award-winning poetess amanda lovelace explores the complexity of femininity through alternating wildflower & wildfire poems.


within these pages, you will find that each of us has the ability to be both soft & fierce at the same time. there is no need to choose one or the other.


Rating: 3/5 stars


My Review:


Firstly, I'd like to thank Andrews McMeel Publishing for the eARC of this book for an honest review!


"she never needed a weapon to be powerful".


This is my 9th Amanda Lovelace poetry collection and it felt like it was a book published just to keep her name out there. Sounds harsh but I didn't feel like there was as much effort put into this collection. There weren't any chapters and it was only 89 pages long. It barely took me anytime to read it. There are a lot of trigger warnings in this short collection which Lovelace lists at the start. It was very empowering and I feel like most of Amanda's collections are great reads for young girls.


"teach her that there's nothing wrong with worshipping herself first".


The book is very on point when discussing today's societal issues and I do commend Lovelace for writing so openly about everything that means something to her. If you are looking for a very quick read of inspirational quotes that are aimed at young girls/women then I do recommend this collection to you. Clearly I'm not a fan.




1 view0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page