top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmy Littleford

Book Review: House of Star and Flowers on Mars by Sakshi Narula


From the author of Loveish and The Art Of Staying Lost poetry series comes this poignant, sassy yet vulnerable collection of love poems, House Of Stars And Flowers On Mars. Sakshi weaves words like fine cashmere in this collection and is one of the few modern poets who bring glamour and the old world charm to contemporary poetry. Poetry can be unsettle, soothe, elevate and enrich the soul. This collection of love poems does that effortlessly by painting pictures in nuanced verses that are soft and relatable.


FLOWER ON MARS


The florist has sad eyes and the flower shop smells of pain. Every lover in a book of poetry heartbroken, every bystander__ a murmur of grief. What is the color of your sorrow? Mine is called Living Coral on the Pantone. Can I buy you flowers in that color? Can I make love to you __and stop you from breaking?


My Review:


Rating: 5/5 stars


Firstly, I'd like to thank Sakshi for trusting me with her proof copies of this book. It is always a pleasure.


'I will make tombstones of your scars and serenade them with a rose'.


I think it was such a brilliant idea to release this book in black and white and also in colour. It was so lovely to see how vibrant Sakshi's formatting is. I also love that, as Sakshi mentions in her foreword, that this book represents the inner workings of her brain. 'Messy and Chaotic' (her words) but also beautiful.


'I poured art into the barks of clementine trees'.


After certain pieces of poetry, Sakshi would have a song for the reader to listen to while reading if they so wished. I really enjoyed this aspect of the book and listened to every song. It really added to the experience for me. I feel like this collection is a breath of fresh air; so calming. With the music as well, it was a perfect relaxing read.


'I walk and grow roots yet the earth doesn't acknowledge I am home'.


Sakshi has always been a poet that can create such amazing imagery with her writing and she doesn't disappoint in her fourth collection. I couldn't put this one down and finished it in a few days. This collection felt different from her other collections. I feel like there is more acceptance in this one of her own feelings but I feel like I can see more of Sakshi in this than the others. As always, it's full of long form poetry, real poetry. Some of my favourite pieces from this are: Summer Sun on Orange Peels, Santra wants to Leave the Earth, Say More, and 41: A Love Poem to Me.


'Fogging the windows to your soul with my warm breath'.


I would recommend this collection to all poetry lovers and anyone who enjoys interactive writing.




2 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page