top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmy Littleford

Book Review: I Got to Know Nature by Christine Weimer


I Got to Know Nature is the second collection in a three-part poetic series written by Christine Weimer. The compilation is portrayed through free-flowing, rhythmic poetic devices that encapsulate the importance of reflecting on the person we were, and the places we’ve been, so we may find things to bring with us into the new realm of life we desire for ourselves.


“I got to know nature when I embodied its components because I realized that the only way out was in,” Weimer writes within the pages of this collection. The Tainted Lionheart author is back again on the next phase of her journey that has resonated with readers for its transparency and truth of heart. Through these works, Weimer breaks down the process of what it means to get to know our own nature in all its forms.


“There is matter intensifying on unknown roads yet to be discovered.” But first, we must get to know nature.


My Review:


Rating: 5/5 stars.


Firstly, I'd like to thank Christine Weimer and Our Galaxy Publishing for gifting me a copy of this poetry collection for an honest review which is book 2 in a 3 book series!


I love the title and think it is very appropriate for the world we currently live in but also refers to getting to know our own nature. Straight away when I started this anthology I knew that I would love it. The second poem in this collection, titled, 'Roots' and probably one of my favourite pieces was very hard hitting, emotional and a promise to do better. 'Illogically Logical' was another piece that I really connected with and could relate to completely. This set up the whole collection which continued on an inspiring journey until the very end. I loved how almost all the poems were long form which is something I rarely see.


The formatting for this collection is neat and crisp, with each poem having a clear title. I felt like I was learning more about Christine from this collection and could really see the hard work that went into each piece. I enjoyed the literary techniques that I noticed throughout and thought that particularly the alliteration really worked well and added to the rhythm of some of the poetry. I loved seeing another Creative Writer using everything she learnt and creating a brilliant poetry collection. I cannot recommend this collection enough and look forward to the third collection in this poetic series.


9 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page