top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmy Littleford

Book Review: Laughing with my Hair Up by Hannah Pearl


Our journey in this life is akin to the growth of a flower. Imagine sprouting from a seed as you're rooted there above the hickory-stained earth. The petals are just barely starting to unfold and before we know it, we're surviving on water and warmth. In the seasons of our lives, we tend to wilt with sadness, blossom with hope, and bloom with love. "Laughing with my Hair Up" is a collection of poems centred around loss, emotional abuse, and the reflection of life's cruelties. Its chapters, like our journeys, mirror a flower's existence. We are one with the earth, and we are built to withstand the wind and rain.


My Review:


Rating: 4/5 stars


Firstly, I'd like to thank the author for gifting me a copy of her debut poetry collection for an honest review.


I really enjoyed this poetry collection and felt like I followed such an emotional journey to the very end of the book. It explores quite a few hard hitting subjects but does it in such a respectful and honest way that really pulls at your heart strings. Even though the poetry was so personal and of course we can't understand the original meaning so much was conveyed to the reader. It is a collection of poems centred around loss, emotional abuse, and the reflection of life's cruelties.


It was well formatted and each poem had a title which I love to see. I really love the cover and thought the title was very unique. This collection is split into chapters that explores different emotions that we experience through our lives. I felt such wisdom in these poems and really took so much from so many.




5 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page