top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmy Littleford

Book Review: Rooms of the Mind by Makenzie Campbell


By the author of the wildly successful 2am Thoughts and Nineteen, comes Rooms of the Mind — a journey into the parts of our psyche that can either hide and protect us, or expose us to all that exists. Here you’ll find an exploration of pain, heartbreak and wonder at what the world might bring us next.


My Review:


Rating: 4.5/5 stars


Firstly, I'd like to thank Netgalley and Central Avenue Publishing for the eARC for an honest review of this poetry collection.


I read Makenzie Campbell's other work, Nineteen, last year and can really see her development as a writer since then to now. This book explores loneliness, fear, heartbreak, nostalgia, love and hope (each having its own chapter) and as the reader I feel that I was able to watch as Campbell grew into someone that can see her worth. The book follows a growth that pours from the pages as you continue to the very end and I thought that was really beautiful. Even though I find Campbell's writings quite simple this is in no way a negative thing. The simple language meant that I could really get to the heart of what Campbell was saying with each piece which gave me more opportunity to relate to a lot of this collection.


I really liked Venla Saarinen's art that was featured in each chapter of the book and again really complimented the poetry with the simple but elegant artwork. I think that being able to share our vulnerabilities and sometimes our weaknesses just shows how strong we really are. Campbell definitely does this with this collection. This collection does explore the many feelings that come with a relationship, beginning and end and is something a lot of us, almost all, can appreciate.






2 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page