top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmy Littleford

Book Review: Shades of Lovers by Catarine Hancock

Updated: Feb 20, 2021


From the author of the poetry collections 'how the words come' and 'the boys i've loved and the end of the world', comes a heartfelt and authentic collection of poetry and prose on learning to navigate love and all of its delights and sorrows.


'Shades of Lovers' is a story of breaking and healing, of forgiving but not forgetting, of understanding and balance. it is not only something to enjoy, but something to learn from.


Here are the things i did right, and the many things i did wrong. i give them to you, so that when love comes knocking, you will have a sense of what to do when you open the door.


My Review:


Rating: 5/5 stars.


Firstly, I'd like to thank Netgalley and Central Avenue Publishing for the eARC for an honest review!


Again, I was pleased to see the trigger warnings at the beginning of the books! This collection is separated into six chapters that each focuses on a different relationship and there are patterns throughout, such as the 'relationship status' and 'words of advice' poems but I really loved the last longer piece of each chapter that was written like a letter to each ex. The first chapter, Ruby Red, literally felt like it was written for me. Every detail was the same, even the age! I couldn't have related to anything more. I loved how the author validated every type of love at any age.


There was so much reflection and honesty. A lot of poetry about love and heartbreak only focuses on the other persons wrongdoings but I loved how there was acknowledgment of her own flaws and mistakes. The amount of feelings that I felt while reading this book was unbelievable and I feel like I want to buy a physical copy just so I can go back a read it again and again! There are a mixture of short pieces and long pieces, mainly poetry but also some prose and they are all equally as good.


I would recommend this poetry collection to those who enjoy poetry about love and also enjoy YA. I really loved it and know that it will be a book I come back to time and again.




60 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page