top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmy Littleford

Book Review: shine your icy crown by Amanda Lovelace


“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.”


This is a story about not letting society dictate the limits of your potential. it’s time to take back your power & realize that you don’t need a king in order to be a queen.


My Review:


Rating: 4/5 stars.


Firstly, I'd like to thank NetGalley and Andrews McMeel Publishing for the eARC in exchange of an honest review.


'be the you that is most comfortable'


I have to firstly talk about Janaina Medeiros illustrations which are so beautiful and really compliment the poems they're paired with. I also love the pink theme that runs throughout this collection. At the beginning of the book there are a list of trigger warnings which can really help the reader to understand what they are about to read and I always appreciate this from Amanda.


'she feels like she might float away any day now'


I really loved the theme of this collection as it is a topic Amanda has touched on in previous books but never in detail. It's about the relationship between two sisters, one younger and the other older. It explores the younger sisters insecurities and much like 'break your glass slippers' we have the 'big sister says' poems and the first chapter follows this sequence. I love how as the chapter moves forward we see how the big sister's praise is helping the younger sister to rise up into a confident woman. It also touches on the big sister also making mistakes and how the younger sister deals with this.


'there isn't a single thing she can't do for herself'


It is a very powerful collection that really pushes forward the message of women supporting women. I also feel like you can see Amanda's growth in this collection compared to her previous books. I felt like there was a direct message to me about equality and that she believes men and women should be equal as I had previously commented that one of her previous works read like 'a hate men journal'. Thanks for clearing that up.


'keep falling in love with yourself'


I do wonder why the chapters didn't have names and were just called 'i'. I felt like the first chapter that focused on the sisters was really successful but then the next two chapters felt like that theme was finished with and it just went back to uplifting pieces that mirrored her previous work. I'm always happy to read Amanda's work and would recommend her work to those who enjoy uplifting writing.



21 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page