top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmy Littleford

Book Review: The Dilemma by Danielle Holian


The Dilemma is the second book by Danielle Holian, following her debut Beautifully Chaotic.


My Review:


Rating: 3.5/5 stars.


Firstly, I'd like to thank Danielle Holian for the eARC for an honest review of her second poetry collection, The Dilemma. I really enjoyed reading Danielle's debut collection last year and was so happy she had written her next one!


This collection follows all the emotions that come with love and heart break. It is split into three chapters, 'The Loving', 'The Breaking', and 'The Healing'. I really liked how this collection has long form poetry mixed with the shorter pieces and made the reading experience really flow nicely. I connected the most with 'The Healing' chapter as I felt this section really captured the 'light at the end of a very dark tunnel' feeling. It was lovely to see that even after heart break there is always a hope and this section did this really well.


I really feel like Danielle put all her emotions into this collection and I really felt that while reading it. This gave each piece such a raw energy that I either connected with or sometimes felt like I was too far removed from the situation to understand or to feel the full impact of the words. I could feel that this book was written as much for Danielle herself as well as her readers and I really hope that the writing process was healing.


I recommend this poetry collection to readers that enjoy poetry about love and heartbreak and think this would be a really helpful collection for anyone who is going through or recently gone through a break up.


9 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page