top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmy Littleford

Book Review: The Grief We're Given by William Bortz

Updated: Feb 20, 2021


How are we to learn to grieve when it feels unrelenting? How are we to adore and memorialise small moments of appreciation? How are we to shape our grief into something worth celebrating, and begin to understand the grief we give?


My Review:


Rating: 2/5 stars


Firstly, I'd like to thank Netgalley and Central Avenue Publishing for the eARC for an honest review.


I really tried to like this collection of poetry. It was formatted beautifully and having been through my own fair share of grief I thought that I would definitely be able to relate and get something from this collection. However, I felt that it was written in a way that I couldn't connect with. I feel like the author had a certain way he wanted his poetry to read but of course the readers don't know how that is which meant it didn't read very clearly for me. I completely appreciate a good metaphor when it comes to poetry but I felt like there were way too many in this collection that it made the real meaning behind the words disappear.


The bits that filtered through were heart breaking and I really feel for the author. I think it's very brave of them to write such an emotional collection. I feel like grief is the hardest emotion to understand and to digest. To be able to write about the worst parts of our lives is very commendable. Maybe other people will be able to connect with this collection but I just found it too convoluted and not really accessible for the reader.




3 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page