top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmy Littleford

Book Review: the mermaid's voice returns in this one by Amanda Lovelace


The mermaid is known for her siren song, luring bedroom-eyed sailors to their demise. However, beneath these misguided myths are tales of escapism and healing, which Lovelace weaves throughout this empowering collection of poetry, taking you on a journey from the sea to the stars. They tried to silence her once and for all, but the mermaid’s voice returns in this one.


My Review:


Rating: 4/5 stars.


"she didn't kiss frogs. she kissed great white sharks." Thanks to Netgalley I am voluntarily reviewing this book after receiving a free copy. When I first saw that the mermaid's voice returns in this was by Amanda Lovelace was coming out I was excited but sceptical because I really enjoyed the first book in this series but I didn't enjoy the second book. I am really happy that this book was as good as the first one. It flowed so well as we read through an Amanda we haven't read before. She expresses each emotion flawlessly and has such a tactful way of writing about dreadful topics. I love how as I read through I could see that different poems related to other books and films, such as Othello, Tangled, Maleficent, Sleeping Beauty, Romeo & Juliet etc. It really showed me how well read the author is and to use such great authors in her own work just showed how much she appreciates good writing.

"will i have to spend the afterlife finding ways to hide from you?" On page 53 she writes a poem relating to Tangled the Disney film. I have a special place in my heart for this film and to see poetry about it really made my day. I also enjoyed the fact that to last chapter was filled with other poets' poetry as well as Amanda's. All the pieces were brilliantly written and related to the topic of the book exactly. "i'm deciding my firsts from now on." Overall, I found this book incredibly engaging and one that I will probably read again. Amanda Lovelace has done a brilliant job on this trilogy and I wish her every success when this book is released in a couple of months. "you are sad now. you are not sad forever." Amy x






3 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page